The Brave meets UNFD’s Spawn (Again): A Tribute To Silverchair


Brisbane Alt-Rock outfit The Brave have released their cover of ‘Cemetery’ by Silverchair and boy, it’s pretty good. Australian based independent record label UNFD have been getting together a handful of bands to record covers of classic Silverchair songs, which their own twists of course, for a tribute album they’re dubbing “Spawn (Again): A Tribute To Silverchair”. The album consists of 10 tracks with bands from all over Australian shores! (Northlane, In Hearts Wakes and The Amity Affliction just to name a few).

The Brave’s rendition of Silverchair’s 1997 release ‘Cemetery’ is track 4 on the album and provides a nice break following the In Hearts Wake track. We’re greeted with a smooth intro synth just before the silky vocals and guitar progression begins, the drums and bass soon follow. Jumping into the chorus, it explodes with soaring gritty vocals and super loud crunchy guitars. Compared to the original, the cover is actually quiet different in structure. Obviously it falls into the typical verse/chorus format which makes it more modern, “radio-friendly” and The Brave’s style of writing. Listening to the mix, the whole track is overwhelmed by drums and the guitars. Vocal parts tend to get lost in reverb during the verses and the rhythm guitar takes over the chorus. Although overall, the bridge solo into the ending yell makes up for the little imperfections. Listen below and check out the full track list at the bottom.

The Brave formed in 2013 in sunny Brisbane, Queensland with a fairly immature sound to their current. Drawing elements from Metalcore and Post-hardcore, the band released a single followed by a 6-track titled “Endless”. Maturing on that sound saw the boys partner up with UNFD in early 2016 to coincide with the release of their debut album “Epoch”. Recently, their single ‘Ethereal’ arose with a short run of shows around Australia, launching them into the spotlight around the East Coast of Australia. The Brave are set to play “The New Noise” which is a free all ages event in Sydney. Joining them are Columbus, Belle Haven, Eat Your Heart Out, Far Away Stables, The Beautiful Monument, and Easy Life.


25/11 – The New Noise @ Oxford Art Factory, Sydney


  1. Tomorrow – The Amity Affliction
  2. Israel’s Son – Void Of Vision
  3. Freak – In Hearts Wake
  4. Cemetery – The Brave
  5. Anthem For the year 2000 – Northlane
  6. Ana’s Song (Open Fire) – Hands Like Houses
  7. Spawn (Again) – Ocean Grove
  8. Emotion Sickness – Storm The Sky
  9. Without You – Tonight Alive
  10. Straight Lines – Columbus


The following two tabs change content below.

Ryan Oxford

Bass in Awaken I Am | PC Master Race

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

You may also like

Hot News

Awaken I Am - Dissolution